Vegan MoFo Day 30: Spooky Pancakes!

30 Oct

Day 30.

 

Turns out Pinterest actually makes me do things.  At first, I just pinned and stared at all the amazing, time-consuming, costly crafts that I know I’d never ever do and bemoaned my horribly lacking wardrobe.   But then I started making to do list boards and it has been so helpful to me!  My board for planning Silas’ 4th birthday party kept me so on track and everything I needed in one place.  It was so successful for me that I made one for each of the major upcoming holidays, Halloween, Thanksgiving and Christmas.   I narrowed things down as we went and didn’t force myself to accomplish everything that I had pinned for Halloween, but I did use any spare time we had to squeeze in a little holiday fun and I know the kids (especially Silas) really enjoyed it!  Definitely saved me a ton of time in the moment, looking for crafts or fun ideas.  I’m bumping a few pumpkin-y things to my thanksgiving board that I just didn’t have time for this month, but really, does it matter when we eat pumpkin cinnamon rolls?  NOPE.  Anytime and always, please.

I knew from the second I saw these spider pancakes that the kids would flip for them!  A squeeze bottle!  So smart!  I would have never thought of that and I see it being a reoccurring thing around here.  I did have trouble finding a squeeze bottle, but my mom found one for us.  I must have been looking in all the wrong places? Definitely work the effort to find one though!

20121031-121207.jpg

 

It’s super easy to draw with it!

20121031-121213.jpg

 

Silas’ brilliant addition was chocolate chip eyes on everything.  I like the way this kid thinks.  And you know, last year he hated chocolate chips!  Finally came to his senses.

20121031-121223.jpg

 

He also recommends eating them eyes first.

20121031-121241.jpg

20121031-121255.jpg

20121031-121310.jpg

20121031-121324.jpg

 

Of course I needed pancakes too.  Obvs.

20121031-121340.jpg

 

The only issue I ran across with the squeeze bottle is how much air it put in the pancakes.  Not sure how I can fix that for next time?  Maybe a thicker batter?  I’ll figure it out eventually.

20121031-121349.jpg

One Response to “Vegan MoFo Day 30: Spooky Pancakes!”

  1. cake girl January 30, 2013 at 2:12 PM #

    very creative and fun idea!
    thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

