hello there, little vegan fish

7 Sep

Hi! Welcome to my blog. Why, yes, I am attempting to lure you in with pictures of a cute kid. Is it working? If not, I promise cat pictures soon. And possibly a cat cuddling a dog picture, if you’re lucky. I figure this blog will be bits and pieces of my life, which mostly consists of vegan food, kids and animals. We live in a place that isn’t known for it’s vegan-friendliness, so I think I’ll also try to feature local stuff. We’ll see where it leads.

Why not just jump right in? This is Silas. He’s my youngest son, an almost 3 year old vegan wild child. He’s also an extremely picky eater. Not, like, regular picky, this is a whole ‘nother level. It’s a constant game of trickery and maneuvering to get healthy food into his cute little body. I feel him though, as I’m pretty sure he inherited this LOVELY trait from me. (sorry, mom!) Most of my childhood was spent refusing to eat nearly everything. I was awful. At one point, I remember refusing everything that didn’t involve tomatoes or potatoes. I took some cooking classes in high school that somehow convinced me to expand my tastes, but I didn’t truly give up the finickiness until I went fully vegan in 2001. Now I’m happy to try anything and as long as it isn’t too spicy hot, I usually love it. But this isn’t about me. And there isn’t a lot of reasoning with a 2 year old who just wants his damned banana, you know?

Call it a pure stroke of luck, but in the past week, he’s become really interested in cooking. He drags his stool to the counter and begs to help. The first night, this led to an actual green vegetable being consumed without the aid of blending into smoothies or baking into muffins! Earth shattering. Nearly wept with joy. So, obviously we are all jumping straight aboard the Silas Cooking Train.

The above photos are from a french toast making adventure. He was watching from a safe distance from the stove and cutting shapes out of bread, until he ran off to his little kitchen to procure his own little frying pan and cooked up a fishy. That’s how we vegans do fish, folks.

He ended up eating an entire piece of french toast after all this helping! We used our good friend Pamela’s Rainy Day French Toast recipe, but added flax meal to it and used a bit of agave nectar for dipping. Dipping is essential in the toddler world.

Super simple recipe that really brings back that french toast taste I so miss. I remember my mom dragging out her huge frying pan and making batch after batch for our family, this recipe takes me right back.

Leave a Reply

