Vegan MoFo : Pumpkin muffins

3 Oct

Vegan MoFo makes me think of pumpkins.  Every year, there are amazing pumpkin dishes all over the MoFo blogs, so the two are forever entwined for me.   There’s no better way to start this month off than with our favorite pumpkiny food!

The Best Pumpkin Muffins from Vegan with a Vengeance.   Probably the reason my family fell in love with Isa.

Pumpkin Bread has always been my thing.  In high school, I took a few years of cooking classes and we sold breads to raise funds.  My group always fought for Pumpkin Bread rights, and always won.  We wanted to taste taste and take home any deformities.  And believe me, we found plenty of ways to create deformities without ruining the yum.  When I went vegan, this was the first recipe I veganized.  I couldn’t bake anything else, but I could bake the hell out of that bread.  Then along comes Isa’s muffin recipe and blows mine out of the water.  I quickly jumped ship and have been making hers ever since.

The pumpkin shortage last year nearly killed me.  I have preemptively stocked up this year.

I always bake a double batch, half for the freezer, half for now.  I don’t think they’ll last that long this time since Silas has discovered them.  Turns out King of Pickiness has a fondness for pumpkin as well.  He stumbled out of bed from nis nap, as evidenced by this awesome bedhead, and devoured a muffin instantly.

Then begged for a second!

He

 

He’s definitely my kid.


4 Responses to “Vegan MoFo : Pumpkin muffins”

  1. Susan October 3, 2011 at 5:17 AM #

    I love how you have decorated the page in the book – so very cute. 🙂
    I don’t make pumpkin things very often, because I can’t get tinned pumpkin puree here so I have to have planned ahead to make my own, which I don’t often get around to. But I do like pumpkin breads and muffins and cupcakes!

  2. Jojo October 3, 2011 at 2:54 PM #

    I really really LOVE those muffins!

  3. Sarah M. (@appifanie) October 3, 2011 at 10:19 PM #

    I didn’t realize you had a new blog! I would have blown right past in the feed (I’m like 300 posts behind!!) but I saw that cute little face and knew I had to come look 😀

    • pbandkelly October 4, 2011 at 12:59 AM #

      I just started it! Hopefully I’ll stick to it 🙂

Leave a Reply

