Vegan MoFo: Replacing a processed food

4 Oct

 

I’m grown lazy and distracted (2 kids is like 20 some days, I tell ya!) and have gotten way too dependent on processed foods lately.  It just saves so much time!  So much easier!  But also, so much more expensive.  I’m working towards finding healthy, homemade recipes to place them.   This week I’m trying to replace the Tofurky sandwiches we eat way, way too often.

I’ve had my eye on Vegan Dad’s lunchmeat recipe for awhile, but just never got around to trying it out.   I’ve heard such positive things about it, so I really should have, but… you know, Tofurky is just soooooo easy.

I have never craved a deli slicer before, but today that happened to me.  This stuff is AMAZING.  I ate so much of it, warm, while slicing it.

Shae says he wants to eat it every single day, for the rest of his life.  Husband loved it too.   Not only did I find it delicious, but I’m thrilled with how simple it is to make.  Quick and easy, besides the steaming & baking time.  Barely any kneading necessary!  That makes my hands so happy. And my wallet, because this stuff is way cheaper!  Processed food #1 replaced.  Thanks, Vegan Dad!

3 Responses to “Vegan MoFo: Replacing a processed food”

  1. Cindy October 4, 2011 at 3:33 AM #

    This looks pretty good. I will definitely have to try this out!

  2. Erin October 6, 2011 at 1:43 AM #

    Thanks, Kelly. I am going to try this out. I’d love to not buy Tofurky and feed the kids with homemade instead. And my kids dig pumpkin muffins, too! You can’t go wrong with pumpkin.

    • pbandkelly October 6, 2011 at 12:25 PM #

      Erin- I just made my second batch already this week! It’s so good!

Leave a Reply

