Vegan MoFo: Healthy Cookie Dough?

6 Oct

 

Another day, another MoFo.  Today, we decided to test out another grand attempt at attempting to convince Silas to consume beans.  I’ll just let you know ahead of time, the odds are sorely against us.  He’s small, but determined.

I’ve been seeing this photo of a Healthy Cookie Dough recipe flying around on pinterest, when I finally looked at it’s source, I find out it’s made of chickpeas and honestly I was pretty skeptical.  But I think maybe this is a gateway food?  The thing that convinces Silas that beans are amazing and delicious!  (despite the 347,923 other times I’ve tried)

Possibly he got his stubbornness from me?

Lots and lots of people really love this stuff, so it’s worth a try.  Check out the recipe here.  Mine didn’t turn out nearly as pretty.  Dark house with no natural light + stupid choice to grab phone instead of camera does not make me a good food photographer.

Shae really, really loved this and swears it tastes just like regular cookie dough!   I wouldn’t go that far.  It had a bit of a metallicy aftertaste to me for some reason?

 

Silas took one huge bite, and licked his lips and whispered “Yum yum yummmmm”.   Then refused to even attempt a second bite.   Toddlers are baffling.  But this gives me hope!

 

 

6 Responses to “Vegan MoFo: Healthy Cookie Dough?”

  1. Sarah M. (@appifanie) October 6, 2011 at 12:52 PM #

    You tried it, hurray! Do you love it more than when you first tried it yet? I started off unsure but then loved it more.

  2. coldandsleepy October 6, 2011 at 12:54 PM #

    Ha ha ha… that sounds pretty much like the situation in our house with every food lately. If he gets a bite in, it’s all “oh, so yummy! tempeh so tasty Mommy!” and then when offered a second bite “no NO tempeh no NO tempeh no NO tempeh.” Thanks for posting Shae’s reaction too, it reminded me that someday my kid won’t be two anymore and will probably be a bit less of a jerk about these sorts of things.

    • pbandkelly October 6, 2011 at 1:23 PM #

      Shae’s progress with food is basically the only thing that gets me through the day sometimes! He was a bad eater until he was 4 or so, then loved everything or would at least try everything. So it does get better! But I’m super over this whole 2 year old food hatred thing.

  3. BleuRoo October 6, 2011 at 1:13 PM #

    I’ve been wanting to make that one day. So only okay? Man, the stuff you come across on Pinterest!

    • pbandkelly October 6, 2011 at 1:21 PM #

      Shae really, really digs it. So maybe Layton would like it too? I dunno. But you know picky, picky Silas!

  4. April October 7, 2011 at 3:49 PM #

    I was thinking about trying this recipe myself! Like you, I have a 10yo who detests all legumes. we’ll see if this does the trick…

Leave a Reply

