Vegan MoFo: In love with an immersion blender with bonus kitty cuteness

6 Oct

 

I’ve had an adversion to my immersion blender for a long time.  Probably since the first time I used it and  I managed to spray food all over the kitchen, ceiling, my hair, and the food inside my open pantry.  One thing you should know about me is I’m basically the clumsiest person alive.  The kitchen is a dangerous place for me.  I once dropped a butcher knife and somehow caught it in the back of my flip flop UNDER my foot.  I’ve caught the dishwasher on fire, not once, but twice.  You get the idea.

But back to the immersion blender, or magic stick as I hear it often referred to.  (death stick is more like it!)  It’s super pretty and I wanted to love it!  It’s much easier to use than pouring into a regular blender and I love anything lazy.

(Things this blog has taught you:  Kelly is lazy and clumsy)

So after ignoring it for far, far too long I made peace with it last night, making some amazing gravy from Appetite for Reduction.  The Silky Chickpea Gravy was a delicious introduction to chickpea based gravies for us and we are all in love with it.  Super easy, all pantry ingredients.  This is my new go-to gravy for sure.  We put it on top of mashed potatoes and thinly sliced pieces of Vegan Dad‘s Seitan Lunchmeat.  That stuff is versitile.  Reminds us of Thanksgiving Tofurky.  I’m on my second batch already this week.

I’m going to spare you the horrific picture I took of it, and substitute pictures of one of our adorable cats.  That’s a suitable replacement right?

First I will tell you that I did have a near disaster with immersion explosion, but managed to survive it.  Next thing I know I’m in love and want to stick blend everything.  Good thing this horrific summer is finally on it’s way out, making way for soup weather!

And now for the cat pics.

This is Karma, she’s 12 years old and my baby.  She was a reject from a breeder for fuck knows why.  Seriously look at her in her kitteny glory!  Who wouldn’t love that cute widdle thing?  Jerks, that’s who.

You just forgot all about that gravy pic didn’t you?

 

Here she is last night, bigger and better.


She’s older and much, much more jaded now, but still has that magical way of being sweet and cute, while totally not giving a shit about anything.  Hello, Karma?  See those maniacs behind you?  No?  Don’t care?


 

Last night, we found a huge tumor on her chest.  Think happy, healthy thoughts for my baby, guys.  I can’t imagine what it would be like without her.

 

10 Responses to “Vegan MoFo: In love with an immersion blender with bonus kitty cuteness”

  1. Cara October 6, 2011 at 2:09 PM #

    Ohmygosh, I think I found my long lost twin!
    1). I once dropped a BIG ol’ knife and it literally landed blade in the floor, straight up, and staked the hem of my long skirt.
    2). I am the biggest clutz ever. We might just have to arm wrestle for the title. Did I mention that I broke my hand my slipping on a pillow? Or that I fracture my foot by doing NOTHING? Just sitting…
    3). I love my immersion blender too! And yet despite knowing that if I lift it up while blending that it will spray food everywhere, I still manage to do it every time.
    See? TWINS 🙂 Loved this post. Made me chuckle!!!

    • pbandkelly October 6, 2011 at 2:32 PM #

      I’ve always wanted a twin! And it gives me hope that you didn’t chop your hand off making any of those adorable creepy Halloween appetizers this week 😉 Might be safe for me after all.

  2. coldandsleepy October 6, 2011 at 2:43 PM #

    Oh Karma. She’s so beautiful. I hope the tumor is benign and you just have a beautiful lumpy cat instead of a beautiful sick cat.

    Cats beat gravy every time… and I really like gravy.

    My immersion blender died inexplicably after only a few months of moderate use. I miss it, but haven’t bought a new one in the intervening um 3 or 4 years.

  3. Jeni Treehugger October 6, 2011 at 3:49 PM #

    From one clumsy kitchener to another! And I’m in love with my emersion blender as well – I mean, it makes soup for forks sake, what’s not to love.
    Karma is a little fluffty tum tums, please give her cuddles from me.
    🙂

  4. BleuRoo October 6, 2011 at 4:26 PM #

    Um, I highly dislike this tumor talk. Sending vibes that it’s nothing. Awww, I love the kitty pic! I remember coming over that x-mas morning after you got her (did you get her for x-mas or a while before, can’t remember) and she was so cute! And she also attacked my hand, if I remember correctly. She showed her true colors pretty early 😉

    And on a completely unrelated note, the pic of the boys, I love that one! Though for some reason it hit me that they all have the same hair and I’m kinda sad that neither of your kiddos got your red hair. Is that weird of me?

    Annnddd I’m rambling, so yeah…….

    • pbandkelly October 6, 2011 at 7:40 PM #

      Matt’s genes must be much stronger than mine! They didn’t get my blue eyes either. phooey.

      And I got Karma for mothers day when Shae was 1, so I’m sure she was still pretty small (and of course feisty as ever!) at Christmas. I don’t even want to think about tumor anything after all the sadness with Three’s cancer! At least his seems to be miraculously not coming back yet.

  5. Lauren Marie October 7, 2011 at 1:01 AM #

    I’ll be sending out good vibes for Karma! Kitties are important!

  6. gpope October 9, 2011 at 9:34 AM #

    Poor darling Karma! Me and Buhbah send wonderful healing thoughts! xo

  7. Susan October 9, 2011 at 10:24 PM #

    Sending many good wishes to Karma. She is very beautiful.

Leave a Reply

