Vegan MoFo: Favorite Snacks

8 Oct

Today, we’re distracted with party planning.  Balloons are flying around all willy nilly.  Silas is screaming “LALA POP!  LALA POP!” because he knows they are coming.  Tomorrow’s his big party day.

He had his first lollipop last week and it’s basically all we’ve heard about since.  Sings about them when he’s falling asleep.  Nearly has a nervous breakdown when he’s told no, he can’t have one.   At least they are organic, and have no artificial colors or dyes.  It could be much worse.

So that brings me to talk about junk food.  The joy of opening up a crinkly wrapper of some delightful snack food and how utterly happy I am that we have so many amazing vegan options available to us.  What’s being a kid without getting to try candy bars and crunchy snacks??  It’s just not the same.

Of course, I’m talking about treats in moderation.

Living in a small town, it’s kind of like a treasure hunt.  Going on vacation means having a list of potential markets to hunt through.  Important events call for ordering from online retailers.  (we love Food Fight!  and Cosmo’s Vegan Shoppe ).  Here are a few of our favorites.

Tings have been a longtime fav around here.  We all will devour it.  I usually stock up from Amazon and then share the wealth.  I have a few friends whose kids have tried Tings at our house and loved them, and my parents keep some in their house at all times for when my little vegans drop in.  Our teensy little health food store actually stocked them for awhile, but not enough people were buying them (jerks!) so they stopped (also, jerks!).

Go Max Go Vegan candy bars are my holy grail.  If anyone I know goes remotely near a city that sells them, I beg them to bring some back.  Then I try to not inhale them instantaneously.  Shae loves them just as much as I do, so it’s quite a battle to convince BOTH of us to ration them out.

I was a 3 Musketeer addict as a kid, and the Buccaneer just brings that all back.  But honestly, I love all 4 of these and can’t even choose a favorite.  We haven’t found the 2 new types yet, but I’m sure they are just as amazing.

The last one here is super important.  Life without marshmallows is no life at all.  For years, we went without a vegan substitute for these little sugary puffs of sheer joy, but those days are no longer!  Praise thee, Dandies.  So realistic!

One of Shae’s favorite things in the world is to roast these over a campfire.   He’s a bit of a connoisseur about it.  I eat his rejects, it’s a pretty great system.

Again,this is another item we can’t find in Panama City.   We stock up on trips or order them online, but would jump for joy if our health food store would carry them.   I beg for them about once a month, and eventually it will happen. And then I will eat them all!  All of the marshmallows.  Forever more.

(I guess I meant moderation for the kids? I am exempt.)

Or I’ll finally have them around often enough to cook with them instead of just roasting or eating out of the bag!

Shae wants me to add that the best place to learn about packaged vegan foods is at The Laziest Vegans in the World, because the “coolest guy ever” gets to try every kind of vegan snack there is and reviews them.

Stay tuned.  Soon, I’ll be posting a guide to Vegan Kids having a normal Halloween and will include a list of easy to find vegan candies too.  Gotta look out for those trick or treaters!

4 Responses to “Vegan MoFo: Favorite Snacks”

  1. Lauren Marie October 8, 2011 at 5:03 PM #

    The two new go max go bars are amazing. If you liked Nestle Crunch, then definitely check that out. Shae’s comment on Laziest Vegans is adorable!

  2. Vanessa October 9, 2011 at 10:01 AM #

    I loooooove go max go vegan candy bars. =)

  3. celyn October 9, 2011 at 4:22 PM #

    Tings! I am also a fan of Veggie Booty.

  4. Sarah M. (@appifanie) October 9, 2011 at 8:10 PM #

    All of the above! 😀

Leave a Reply

