vegan mofo: 3= cupcakes & la la POPS!

9 Oct

Silas is three!  Well, not until tomorrow, but he thinks he is now.

Somehow he got that idea.

He blew out his candles by himself for the first time.  On his own little cute cake!

Then he spotted something he’d rather have.

A cupcake!  He’s regular people.

And I don’t blame him, they were delicious.

We had a lot going on, then things got crazy.  I had an allergic reaction to something causing my eyelid to swell shut and my throat to get all sore.  Nearly got to spend the day in the ER, but an antihistamine saved the day.  Eventually.

Luckily, I had already planned on using the Easiest Cupcake Recipe in the Universe because it’s my families favorite.  Anytime I make a different vanilla cake recipe, everyone loves it, but they still mention “those amazingly moist ones”.

This makes me laugh because all they are is a  slightly altered wacky cake recipe!  The kind of thing you throw together when you don’t have time for real cupcakes.   My husband replaced the cocoa powder in a chocolate cake recipe with a whole bunch of vanilla extract.  I thought it was ludicrous.   Dry is dry and wet is WET.  But I concede that they are magical.

Matt’s Vanilla Cupcakes (altered from a Sarah Kramer recipe, but I don’t remember which one!  I wish I did.  We’ve been making these for years now and it’s just handwritten scribble at this point.)

1 1/2 cup flour

1 cup sugar

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/3 cup oil

1 TBS apple cider vinegar

2 TBS vanilla extract

1 cup cold water.

Typical wacky cake style, dry ingredients in first, add the wet ingredients, stir until “just mixed”.  Bakes about 12 cupcakes.  350 degrees for 18-20 minutes or until golden brown.  Be prepared for people to demand these for years to come!

And because it wouldn’t be Silas’ party with a “LA! LA! POPPPPPP!”, here ya go.

5 Responses to “vegan mofo: 3= cupcakes & la la POPS!”

  1. coldandsleepy October 9, 2011 at 8:59 PM #

    Awww. Happy birthday tomorrow Silas! He’s way too cute still, and I love his little personal (and ignored) cake.

    And yikes about the allergic reaction. Yay for antihistamines!

  2. Lauren October 9, 2011 at 11:52 PM #

    That is one heck of a la-la pop!

    Glad the antihistamines worked for you, too! That would be a pretty scary situation!

    That vanilla cupcake recipe looks fantastic!! I have a favorite vegan chocolate cupcake recipe that’s along the same lines with coffee and a heap of chocolate in it! My supervisor made them for me for my birthday.

    • pbandkelly October 10, 2011 at 5:43 AM #

      He had about 5 licks of that LaLa Pop and was defeated.

  3. Jojo October 10, 2011 at 9:27 AM #

    The cupcakes are so pretty! I’m glad you’re okay after your random allergic reaction.

  4. Mandee October 10, 2011 at 6:48 PM #

    What an awesome looking party with so much cake and sweets!

Leave a Reply

