Vegan MoFo: Halloween Candy

13 Oct

sorting out the unvegan candy, halloween 2010

Halloween is coming! Silas is pleading to look at anything with a pumpkin on it by sweetly whispering ” ‘ween? ‘ween?” and slowly progressing to shouting “WEEEENNNNNN!!!” with uncontrollable glee.

Every single time he sees anything pumpkin-like.

Or Orange.

So, I’m totally looking forward to when he learns to connect candy to this holiday (oh, no I’m not).

Especially “La La pops”. Which I may or may not have hidden in a high cabinet in an effort to wipe them from his memory. Where’s that flashy thingy from Men In Black when I need it?

In reality, we don’t make Halloween completely center around eating candy. We go to a festival or two, meet up with family and friends, play games, do a little trick or treating, a scary hay ride for Shae… and a few pieces of candy through out the night. Shae usually gets to pick out his favorite type of candy and we buy it beforehand, just in case the candy he receives isn’t vegan. He generally chooses chocolate since it’s for sure he won’t be getting any vegan chocolate given to him around here. This is the first year that Silas knows what candy is, so I imagine we’ll stash a few lollipops in my bag as well.

We’ll be out all evening enjoying the festivities, so we won’t be home to hand out our own treats. Even if we did, no one in their right mind would walk up our long, dark driveway through the woods to this huge old house in the dark. Exactly 1 trick or treater has ever come to the door here, ever. Back in 1997, and let me tell you. Scared the pants off of us. We basically just had to convince ourselves that it was actually a real, live child and not a ghost.

Would you walk down this driveway in the dark for a piece of lousy candy?

I wish we were able to hand out candy though! So cute to see all the kids costumes and their excited little faces. Instead I’ll give you ideas of what you can hand out!

Maybe you’re lucky enough to live somewhere where organic, vegan candy is readily available or maybe you’re planning ahead and ordering some. I don’t have a ton of experiences with the good stuff, but I will tell you that we love Yummy Earth Organic Lollipops and Endangered Species dark chocolate Bug Bites. We’ve handed out those lollipops tons of times through out the years at school and kids love them. Shae requests those dark chocolate bites often. He loves the little bug pictures that come inside of them too. Cosmo’s Vegan Shoppe has a bunch of yummy stuff too.

Now, if you’re looking for mainstream, cheap, easy to find candy that kid love to get, here’s what I recommend:

Dum Dum Lollipops

Twizzlers

Skittles

Sour Patch Kids

Swedish Fish

Pez

Laffy Taffy (be careful! Only the bitesized pieces are vegan!)

Airheads

Cry Babies

Dots

Also, those big tubs of individual packs of pretzels are really great!

3 Responses to “Vegan MoFo: Halloween Candy”

  1. Rabbit Food Grocery (@RabbitFoodVegan) October 13, 2011 at 11:13 PM #

    I am a fan of the little bags of pretzels and of course the little boxes of raisins for trick-or-treaters. I’m sure I’m the least popular house in my neighborhood!

    • pbandkelly October 14, 2011 at 6:13 AM #

      The kids seem to like the pretzels! I haven’t seen great reactions to raisins though…

  2. FoodFeud October 14, 2011 at 11:18 PM #

    I used to dig on candy a LOT more than I do now but always nice to know I can grab some swedish fish and sour patch :). Is it just my imagination or are candy ingredients ridiculously hard to find on a package?

Leave a Reply

