Vegan MoFo: death by cookie

18 Oct

Yesterday,  I was in desperate need of the kind of joy that only an amazing baked good can bring.  You know, THAT kind of day.

I know your MoFo feeds are already overflowing with pumpkin what nots, but I’m going to add to that.   You can never, ever have too much pumpkin!

My favorite baked good of all time are Pumpkin Muffins and we had those recently, so I moved on to my favorite cookies.  Also pumpkin, of course.  The Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies from Vegan with a Vengeance are delightful little bites of happiness.   Soft and chewy and just… the best.  I haven’t had them in awhile after eating 50 billion of them last winter, but it’s time to let myself loose near these babies again.

As soon as they got out of the oven and were just barely cooled, I immediately ate three.

Yep, just as delicious as I remembered.  Best cookie ever.  So happy!  Missed these so much!  yay!!!

Then my throat got all burny and scratchy and my lips started to tingle.  My voice got all hoarse.  My throat was really hurting and felt so weird.  Not great.

Hmmm.  This was just like last week when I was making mini pumpkin muffins in miniature ice cream cones for Silas’ birthday and I had a stupid reaction after touching my eye with the molasses.  My eyelid was huge and swollen shut and I felt like death until the antihistamine kicked in.  Then I felt woozy and like my head was about to fly away on it’s own, all while cooking and throwing a birthday party.  Funsies.

Wait!

Molasses.

Dammit.  Also in these cookies.

Uh. huh.  So I don’t know if this is an allergy developing or an intolerance or what, I just know I don’t want to deal with it again because it sucked.

And now there are 4 dozen of my favorite cookies just sitting there taunting me.   The kids are eating them and gushing about how much they love them and I’m debating whether it’s worth the antihistamine coma to eat just a few more.

It probably is.  It’s a super rainy day and I’d kind of a like a nap anyway.

They’re really amazing cookies.

p.s.

Shae’s soccer team won their leauge championships this weekend!  Yay, Shae!

4 Responses to “Vegan MoFo: death by cookie”

  1. Kimberly October 18, 2011 at 12:25 PM #

    I feel sad for you that molasses might be the culprit, but I guess if you have to die, death by cookie hardly sounds like the worst option.

    And yay for Shae’s soccer team!

  2. Jojo October 18, 2011 at 5:59 PM #

    Oh yum, those cookies sound delicious.

  3. coldandsleepy October 19, 2011 at 3:20 PM #

    Molasses! Oh noooooo! That would be really sad, because molasses is so freaking good.

    I made those cookies recently but got lazy after baking like two dozen of them (the amount of dough seemed huuuge) so I put the rest of the cookie dough in the freezer, and then ate it slice by slice for weeks. It was great. So wrong, but so right.

    • pbandkelly October 20, 2011 at 7:58 AM #

      Now I’m seriously craving frozen slices of cookie dough!! All your fault! 🙂

      I’ve managed to not eat these again, but I’m trying convince myself it was just a crazy coincidence and OF COURSE I’m fine eating molasses or whatever. I refuse to even acknowledge that pumpkin might be the culprit. That would just reduce me to a ball of tears in the corner.

Leave a Reply

