Free Pin Friday + bonus deer!

21 Oct

Oh dear, deer!

I complain a lot about living in the middle of nowhere. I really shouldn’t. I mean, there are subdivisions on either side of us so we aren’t that isolated. But since our acreage is wooded around the outer perimeters and across the street is 40 acres of woods, it feels like we are all alone out here. As much as it sucks, it’s also super amazing sometimes. Like the countless hours I spent nursing Silas in the front yard!

And like when magical woodland creatures come to visit.

This little guy happily munched on plants and acorns for the longest time this morning. He just stared at us watching him from the window, even when Silas was banging and screaming “Hi! Hi! Hi!”.

He pranced around the swing set, just checking everything out for awhile.

The whole time Indi was laying in the driveway just bathing in the sunlight. It was pretty great when the locked eyes and just stared at each other , then nonchalantly went back to what they were doing. Good thing you weren’t a lizard, deer. Indi would not have been the same sweet kitty.

Our little deer friend eventually wandered off, leaving me paranoid, listening for gunshots. Hopefully he’ll stay safe.

In honor of our adorable visitor and the third week of Vegan MoFo, I’ll be giving away a 3 piece vintage deer pin set from my etsy shop today for Free Pin Friday! Just leave a comment telling me about your favorite animal visitor and I’ll randomly choose a winner.
Open to anyone, anywhere! Please leave your email address so I can contact you.


5 Responses to “Free Pin Friday + bonus deer!”

  1. Fanny (northernveg) October 21, 2011 at 4:05 PM #

    I’m not sure if this is open for people world wide, but if it is, I’m in! I love whales.

    • pbandkelly October 21, 2011 at 5:12 PM #

      Open worldwide! I’ll add that, thanks.

  2. celyn October 21, 2011 at 9:02 PM #

    Your pins are so cute! I was surprised at how beautiful the coyotes in our woods are.

  3. Holley October 23, 2011 at 7:57 PM #

    A couple of months after I moved to Colorado, I was driving around in the foothills and saw a family of bears walking across a golf course. About a block away, two moose were heading into someone’s backyard. It was like a little wonderland!

    Also, I just found your blog via PPK. I’m from PC, although I haven’t lived there since ’99. I go back once or twice a year to visit my mom. I’m intrigued to see what kind of resources there are (or aren’t) for vegans. 🙂

    • pbandkelly October 23, 2011 at 8:13 PM #

      Hi Holley! I’ll be posting about the very, very few vegan resources in PC pretty soon. Things have improved dramatically since 1999, but we’re still wayyyyy behind the times.

Leave a Reply

