Vegan Mofo: Chickpea cutlets, two ways

21 Oct

I’m sure you’ve tried the Chickpea Cutlets from Veganomicon, right?  If you haven’t, get thee to the kitchen my friend.  You have been missing out.

I remember making these immediately after getting the cookbook and instantly being obsessed with them.  They’ve been on constant rotation in our house since then.  Actually, here’s the first time I blogged about them back in 2007.   Still just as delicious !

Night before last, I made a double batch and panfried them up for dinner.

The uncooked gluten chickpea dough

panfrying

yum yum yum.

Couldn’t be better right?

Then tonight, my husband decided he wanted to deep fry the rest of the batch, chicken-fried steak style.  We never, ever fry anything, so this is a rare event.  I almost wish he hadn’t done it, because now I want to eat these every day!  I’m still marveling at the perfect texture on these.  Hands down, best meat substitute I’ve ever eaten.

Looks like somebody is going to be cooking more often.

2 Responses to “Vegan Mofo: Chickpea cutlets, two ways”

  1. Helen October 22, 2011 at 12:39 AM #

    Oh man — deep frying the chickpea cutlets = best idea ever!! I just made this recipe (not chicken fried) for the first time a few days ago, and it was soooo good baked that I can only imagine how fantastic they would taste lightly crisped in oil. Hello, Sunday brunch!

  2. Jeni Treehugger October 22, 2011 at 1:37 AM #

    OMG!!
    I just panicked and thought who the heck has gotten hold of my Vcon and photographed it!! I have done exactly the same little hearts around my chickpea cutlet recipes!
    Freaky!!

Leave a Reply

