Vegan MoFo Day 1: Frantic ramblings of a vegan mom

1 Oct

Day 1:

Spent the weekend frantically trying to come up with brilliant plan for mofo, ended up right where I started.  Going to blog about whatever, whenever I can grab the time.  By spending the weekend, I mean while running around with kids, cleaning up messes, helping Shae with his 8th grade SGA campaign and making 5 billion halloween crafts (Silas “NEEDED ART”), I briefly stared into space, begging for magical  a-HAH moment.  Crickets.

Spent rest of night desperately trying to at least decide on eye-catching first post.  (obvs failed)  Maybe I was sleeping.  Maybe.

So here we are, Monday morning, October 1st.  Up at 6, made breakfasts, lunches, husband off to work, Big off to school, Little is quietly and intensely building lego water for scooby doo to dance on.  I’m drinking cold coffee (NOT COLD ON PURPOSE) and have already made a huge disaster of my google reader and downloaded an app for my phone that may or may not make me actually have time to read all these mofo posts.  More on that later.

The cat is scratching the furniture, The dog is begging for in and out and in.  Silas wants more and more legos that are “water like”.  Did Shae remember his speech? (Shae for President!)

It hits me.  I’ve never going to think is sentences.   Def not today at least.

So what you get is the frantic rambling of a vegan mom who is trying to instill compassion and healthfulness in her kids.   However I can.  Try not to let your head explode from incomplete sentences and bad grammar.  My brain is not great these days.  My cupcakes are AMAZING though so I think it evens out.  Right?

OK, so I mentioned a few posts ago (in JANUARY.  hah.) that I was in a food rut and wanted to get out of it and start enjoying the process of cooking again.  It totally worked.  Mostly.  I’m testing for Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s next book Isa Does It and that gave me the direction I needed.  I grew up the pickiest eater in the world and while that has changed dramatically,  I still never developed the  motivation to force myself outside of my box when choosing recipes and odd ingredients.  I try, but it just doesn’t come naturally to me. I didn’t grow up in a family that cooked from scratch at all, so basically everything has been new to me as an adult.  The thing about cooking Isa’s recipes is that it’s more than just cooking, it’s more of a mini cooking lesson.  Isa introduces us to the ingredient, teaches us how to use it best, give alternative methods/ideas, and leaves us excited to destroy the kitchen.  I learn something new from her constantly and take that with me.  I’ve introduced my family to tons of new foods this year via testing and expanded our regular meals exponentially.  Most importantly she made a cashew cream addict out of me.  Cashews are magic, did you know that?  Seriously.  Just order a bulk bag and await this book.

Here are a few of our favs from testing:

Very Berry Scones

.

Chocolate Zucchini Bundt Cake (Silas is saying he wants to pour coconut milk on this.  That is not Isa Endorsed.)

.

Island Black Bean Burgers

.

Chandra Malai Kofta

.

Nirvana Enchilada Casserole

.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to design some lego buttons & cupcakes toppers for Silas’ 4th Birthday party, beg my dog to stop barking at the squirrels, and build some Kale out of legos because Muno is hungry…

Also, now I’m starving.  Way to go, Vegan MoFo.

6 Responses to “Vegan MoFo Day 1: Frantic ramblings of a vegan mom”

  1. Carrie October 1, 2012 at 9:23 AM #

    Oh man, I’m so jealous you’re testing for Isa Does It! Everything I’ve seen from testers looks AMAZING.

  2. mollyjade October 1, 2012 at 4:04 PM #

    That kofta looks amazing.

  3. April October 2, 2012 at 12:54 PM #

    I second Mollyjade. The Chandra Malai Kofta looks divine 🙂

  4. Mo October 2, 2012 at 6:38 PM #

    I really have to get this book when it comes out! Hell yes! That kofta is gawgeous!

  5. pbandkelly October 2, 2012 at 7:17 PM #

    The Kofta tastes way more amazing than it looks! SO amazing.

  6. Sara (The Veggie Eco-Life) October 5, 2012 at 2:58 PM #

    I can’t wait to have that Malai Kofta recipe, I am SO looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

