Vegan MoFo Day 4: Vegan Food Shopping in Panama City, Florida

4 Oct

Day 3:

Grocery shopping. I live in the rural area north of Panama City, Florida. In recent years, the little gas station market that’s about a 10 minute drive from my house started selling soymilk. That was a BFD. Previously it was a 30 minute drive to the nearest plant-based milk. Maybe that’s why I breastfed my youngest until he was almost 3? Haha.  No, that’s not the reason. But it should have been considered because even a 20 minute roundtrip drive to get a carton of milk is not something a almost-4 year wants to deal with. Wait, why am I blaming him? It’s me that doesn’t want to deal with it. But hey, we manage.

The grocery stores in my county are Publix, Winn Dixie, Walmart and Target sort of.  I’m a Publix shopper.  I love Target but ours isn’t a super, so they don’t have everything I need.  I do grab a few things there from time to time.  Walmart sucks for obvious reasons and Winn Dixie seems to have cheese balls and soda in every single aisle.  I end up so annoyed I can’t even stand hunting down the stuff I need.  Some Winn Dixie’s do have a nice little natural section that I’ll check out once in awhile for specialty items that Publix doesn’t carry.  Tofutti Yours Truly, I’m looking at you.  Publix has a greenwise natural section, plus a really nice produce section.  They have really been stepping it up even harder lately carrying veganaise and (drumroll please) DAIYA CHEESE.  Yes, the caps mean I’m yelling.  Of course I’m yelling.  Being able to buy vegan Cheese in a regular grocery store in this area is unheard of.  We don’t buy a ton of it, but it’s nice to be able to do my whole shopping at one store!  Even the little health food store just started selling it a year or so ago.  Now if only they would sell vegan yogurt again, my food life would be complete.  I miss yogurt something fierce.  The hfs ordered it once for me, as a tease/torture and quit immediately.

 

I’m planning on doing a more thorough review of publix later on, but for now.  DAIYA, ya’ll!!!

4 Responses to “Vegan MoFo Day 4: Vegan Food Shopping in Panama City, Florida”

  1. food stains October 4, 2012 at 8:36 AM #

    I moved from Florida about 3 years ago to a place with no Publix and it has been depressing! Now I’m hearing that Publix’s are carrying Daiya, that’s awesome!! Everytime I visit my family (in south florida) I like to make a big adventure of visiting a publix. Thanks for the sweet nostalgia 🙂

  2. Mo October 4, 2012 at 2:09 PM #

    How do they sell Daiya and not yogurt? That’s just weird. But YAY Daiya!

  3. Beth - whiny vegans October 4, 2012 at 6:33 PM #

    We were so excited that Publix is now carrying Daiya that we accidentally bought three bags, even though we don’t eat it that much. And I’m totally with you on the yogurt! We actually have one Publix in the area that carries Whole Soy brand yogurt, but not tempeh! I don’t get it. Maybe your Publix willl start carrying yogurt if you request it?

    • pbandkelly October 4, 2012 at 9:03 PM #

      Thanks for the tip! I’ll have to do another round of yogurt requests. Years ago, ours sold Silk yogurt. Those were the days!

Leave a Reply

