Vegan MoFo Day 9: End of the Line Cafe in Pensacola, Florida

9 Oct

Day 9.

Those of you who live in magical vegan wonderlands might not appreciate my ridiculous over-excitement today.  But I live in Panama City, land of deep-fried sea creatures, so try to deal with me.  Because, VEGAN BRUNCH.

20121009-091212.jpg

This weekend, we had our first vegan brunch outside of our own kitchen!  We found enough time after Shae’s last soccer game to hit End of the Line Cafe before we headed home to see what our cat had done to punish us for abandoning her.  We’ve been there a few times before and loved it, but the brunch was on a whole new level.

For $15 we got an enormous amount of food.  A plate bigger than my head.  Plus soup and dessert.

20121009-091450.jpg

But first.  Pumpkin Spice Latte.  Best.

20121009-091612.jpg

The potato basil soup was amazing.  And no, Matt could not resist the array of craft beers.

20121009-091752.jpg

20121009-092131.jpg

Look at all that food!

Shae was obsessed with the coconut coleslaw.  He tried to scam ours, but no dice.  He settled for pleading with me to learn how to make it, so that’s on my to do list.  I wish I knew was was in the garden scramble because it may be better than my expanded version of Isa’s scramble and I just don’t know how that’s possible. Black-eyed peas were perfect, salad was refreshing and I wish I knew what the jalapeno cornbread tasted like but Silas stole those without hesitation.

20121009-092506.jpg

So, yeah, it was delicious, okay?

20121009-092558.jpg

Silas looking on, for size comparison. The plates are seriously that big!

20121009-092703.jpg

Chomp, Chomp.

And then, my favorite part of the meal, dessert.  Of course.  I don’t know if I’ve ever had actual strawberry shortcake before.  My grandmother used to do a version of it which was just a cake mix with cool whip & strawberries on top.  It did not prepare me for the real thing at all.  All I can think about is the cream that was on top.  I need more.  A lot more.

20121009-093041.jpg

Silas shared mine with me, and let me tell you.  I must really love that kid.

Such a satisfying meal!  Especially after a weekend of iceberg lettuce and French fries.

Now I’m going to get weird for a minute.  Try to pretend its normal for someone to take a million photos of a bathroom, okay?

20121009-093213.jpg

It’s just the cutest bathroom! Also, Silas was too distracted by “ALL THE PRETTY ART” to actual pee.  My apologies to anyone waiting behind us.

Might have gone faster if he didn’t see paintbrush on the table and need to try to convince me that the artist left it there for him to “help a little”.  Don’t worry, End of the Line, I didn’t let him.

20121009-093925.jpg

20121009-093955.jpg

20121009-094025.jpg

20121009-094039.jpg

20121009-094349.jpg

Adorable, right?

We’ll be back in the area in a few weeks, can’t wait to go back!

4 Responses to “Vegan MoFo Day 9: End of the Line Cafe in Pensacola, Florida”

  1. coldandsleepy2 October 9, 2012 at 12:16 PM #

    Um, that looks totally awesome. Sometimes I think the biggest downside of having kids is having to share food treats with them! (But it’s also kinda the best part.)

    Also, I live in almost vegan paradise and we still have the problem where pretty much every restaurant that’s not all-veg is like hey look at this thing we pulled out of the sea!!!! Forking coastal towns.

  2. Beth - whiny vegans October 9, 2012 at 8:37 PM #

    This place looks awesome! In Orlando we used to have a restaurant with chalkboard walls in the bathroom, where you could leave your own “art.” I can imagine how hard it would be for a kid to try to pee in there!

  3. Susmitha - Veganosaurus October 10, 2012 at 2:01 PM #

    Ok, now you’ve made me want to fly half way across the world to have this amazing brunch. WOW! That plate is really huge and that strawberry shortcake looks fantastic!! Of course, you’ve built major awesome-mom Karma by sharing it with Silas. 😀

    And that bathroom is so freaking happy and adorable!! Who would feel like using that artistically painted toilet? It would feel so wrong! haha

  4. sarahappifanie October 11, 2012 at 7:32 AM #

    I’d be so psyched to get a vegan brunch! I had one vegan brunch and it was made by Isa, so I guess that one should last me for a long time 😀

Leave a Reply

