Vegan MoFo Day 10: LAZY Cake Pops for my birthday boy

10 Oct

Day 10.

Silas is 4 today! He’s having a Lego bash this weekend to celebrate, but he requested cake pops for today. Cake pops are one of those ridiculously cute foods that for whatever reason I decide I’ll screw up, so I put off attempting them forever. Also: see cinnamon buns.

I’m not about to turn down a birthday request, so I sucked it up and googled those adorable little balls. Automatically I feel extremely inadequate and know this is going to go horribly. Seriously, the things people do to these things! I don’t want sculpture, I want cake on a stick.

At some point (before I just gave up entirely) I decided to go rouge and just baked a double wacky cake, crumbled that baby up, mixed it with some leftover vctotw chocolate buttercream (thawed from the freezer) and rolled a zillion little balls. 44 to be exact. And I guess they are huge because I was just informed they are triple the size of Starbucks cake pops. Not my fault! I’ve never seen a real life Cake Pop off the computer screen. Also, I like cake. Anyway, so 44 huge balls. Throw in freezer, told kids a million times “no, they are not ready yet”, heated up (in microwave, for legit laziness) some ghiradelli semi sweet chocolate chips mixed with a little coconut oil, and dipped and dipped and dipped till I couldn’t dip anymore. Maybe I was singing “When I dip, you dip, we dip.” MAYBE.

Also, sprinkles. The kind meant as ice cream topping that are accidentally vegan. Chilled and placated children with extra chocolate chips.

This is why I don’t write recipes guys. So, so lazy. Good luck making it through this rambling nonsense.

Eventually they were ready to eat. They turned out really cute and were way easier than their cuteness eludes too! Kids were totally wowed. I think I’m a Cake Pop devotee now. So much cute for so little actual work. No sculpture necessary.

20121010-151019.jpg

20121010-151036.jpg

20121010-151053.jpg

20121010-151126.jpg

20121010-151143.jpg

20121010-151158.jpg

20121010-151227.jpg

Bonus birthday picture!

5 Responses to “Vegan MoFo Day 10: LAZY Cake Pops for my birthday boy”

  1. cameraphonevegan October 10, 2012 at 3:45 PM #

    looks like a satisfied customer! 🙂

  2. BleuRoo October 10, 2012 at 3:48 PM #

    #1- HAPPY BIRTHDAY, SILAS!!! Can’t believe it’s been 4 years, we’re getting old Kelly.

    #2 – Those are some seriously *huge* cake pops! Like, fo’ real. Which means they’re extra awesome, of course.

    #3 – Ummm, I’m hoping there will be huge cake pops at the party…..you can’t flaunt those and then not share!

    I dare not show these pictures to Layton, lest he get any crazy ideas in his head 😉

    • pbandkelly October 10, 2012 at 9:40 PM #

      There will definitely be cake pops at the party! I plan to eat these for every meal for awhile.

  3. sarahappifanie October 11, 2012 at 7:34 AM #

    they look so good! i got a cake pop maker – what a dumb idea – just makes balls of cake, not cake balls.

    that pic of silas is adorable 🙂 tying balloons to the presents is a cool idea!

  4. John McDevitt October 11, 2012 at 5:02 PM #

    Mmmm, I want one!

Leave a Reply

