Vegan MoFo Day 11: fast food doesn’t have to come through a car window.

11 Oct

Day 11.

Everyone always tells me they’d eat better if they had time. Which I totally get, because yeah, me too! But the thing that I realize they are trying to do is replace drive-thru meals. I spend a ton of my time in the car so I really get it. We live far from everything, my kids have a constant stream of places they need to be, I feel like a full time chauffeur most days. But drive thrus are not something I even consider. For the busiest days, I’ll pack sandwiches and fruit to eat in the car on the way. Sometimes we throw some fruit, spinach, protein powder and soymilk in the blender and bring smoothies in the car with us. Yes, that means leaving the blender soaking in the sink until we are back home, but look at all the nutrients we are eating! So much more important. I’m sure that’s quicker than waiting in a drive thru line, right? I know the Starbucks drive thru makes me want to cry a little.

A few days a week we have to cut into Silas’ naptime for lunch and we all know that is torture. When a 4 year old still takes a 3 hour daily nap, on top of sleeping easily from 8pm- 6:30am, you attempt to move the earth in order to preserve that little block of midday silence!

This calls for real speed.

Sometimes I read blogs about this that end with homemade bread and marinated seitan and fruit shaped into kittens and rainbows. You are in the wrong place if you are looking for that type of result. That is not hectic busy food! I wish it was. That’s stepford food and I am about as far from that as possible. This is actual no-thinking, quick eat something remotely nutritious please food.

I usually give quick options, like “peanut or almond butter on your toast?” or “spinach or carrot sticks?” Because I’m a firm believer that giving kids some sort of power over their foods makes them more likely to actually eat it and more likely to make healthy choices on their own in the future.

On this day, Silas went with peanut butter on his whole wheat bread, carrot sticks with a bit of thousand island dressing to dip, applesauce squeezer and his gummy multivitamins as his “snack”. That was a little ridiculous but why would I complain?

20121011-145042.jpg

We play a little game at each meal to see if be can identify which food groups he’s eating, this is him cheering himself on for having while grain, protein, fruit and a veggie.

20121011-145224.jpg

And then the results of a 3 minute to throw on a plate meal:

20121011-145319.jpg

I’ll sometimes stick this type of Lazy Meal into his little lunchbox and let him munch on the road or while we wait to pick his big brother up from school. Crazy fast, easy and cheap, and no greasy trash fast food!

P.S. I’m typing this blog post on my phone, using the WordPress app, waiting in the middle school pick up line, while Silas and I sip on spinach/banana/blueberry/soymilk/pea protein smoothies. Silas is trying to suck the very last drip of his up his straw. YUM.

5 Responses to “Vegan MoFo Day 11: fast food doesn’t have to come through a car window.”

  1. veganinbrighton October 11, 2012 at 3:44 PM #

    I love the idea of the food groups game!!

  2. Mihl October 12, 2012 at 6:12 AM #

    What a great post, Kelly! We don’t have a car and drive thrus are only at McD, I think (we don’t go there). I still need to learn how to plan and what kind of food to bring with me because the kid will be hungry at some point.

  3. nik October 12, 2012 at 4:11 PM #

    lol at “stepford food”…you are so right on that one. Bentos may be pretty to look at but if I ever had that much time it would stun me silly. 🙂

  4. sarahappifanie October 14, 2012 at 10:43 AM #

    Livi loves those gummy vitamins and sometimes when I want candy I steal one 😀 Also, BEST SLEEPER EVER! Lucky you!

    • pbandkelly October 14, 2012 at 10:45 AM #

      Ha, I steal them sometimes too! They’re so good! And don’t worry, Silas is just paying us back in sleep for the first 2 years of his life when he woke up to nurse five billions times a night. He owes me!

Leave a Reply

